AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fact Sheet 462

МАРАВИРОК (Селзентри)



• ЧТО ТАКОЕ МАРАВИРОК?
• КТО ДОЛЖЕН ЕГО ПРИНИМАТЬ?
• А КАК НАСЧЕТ РЕЗИСТЕНТНОСТИ?
• КАК ПРИНИМАЮТ МАРАВИРОК?
• КАКОВЫ ПОБОЧНЫЕ ЭФФЕКТЫ?
• КАК ОН ВЗАИМОДЕЙСТВУЕТ С ДРУГИМИ ПРЕПАРАТАМИ?
• ИТОГ


ЧТО ТАКОЕ МАРАВИРОК?
Маравирок (Selzentry в США и Celsentri в остальном мире), ранее был известен как UK 427,857. Это лекарство, использующееся в качестве антивирусной терапии. Оно производиться компанией Пфайзер.
Маравирок это первый препарат являющийся «ингибитором слияния/проникновения». Когда ВИЧ инфицирует клетку, он сперва прикрепляется к клетке снаружи. Он использует молекулы на поверхности Т-клетки, чтобы прикрепиться к ней, перед слиянием. Маравирок блокирует корецептор, который называется CCR5. Когда маравирок блокирует этот рецептор, ВИЧ не может инфицировать клетку.
Предпочтение ВИЧ той или иной молекулы (того или иного рецептора), для соединения, называется тропизм. Маравирок эффективен только против ВИЧ, который использует CCR5, чтобы проникнуть в Т-клетку. Прежде чем пациенту назначаеться маравирок, он должен сдать анализ на тропизм, чтобы убедиться в том, что его вирус использует рецептор CCR5.


КТО ДОЛЖЕН ЕГО ПРИНИМАТЬ?
Маравирок был одобрен в 2007 году, как антивирусный препарат против ВИЧ, как часть схемы антиретровирусных препаратов. Он проходил испытание на взрослых людях, уже принимавших АРВ в течение какого-то времени, и чей вирус выработал резистентность (см. инф. листок 126) к существующим АРВ препаратам. Маравирок не тестировался на детях, беременных женщинах и стариках.
Нет никаких абсолютных правил о том, когда начинать прием АРВТ. Вы и Ваш доктор должны учитывать количество Ваших Т-клеток, Вашу вирусную нагрузку, симптомы, которые у Вас есть и ваше отношение к приему лекарств против ВИЧ. Информационный листок 404 содержит больше информации о приеме антиретровирусных препаратов.
Маравирок принимается дважды в день. Его, по всей видимости, будут принимать люди, у которых очень мал выбор действенных для них АРВ препаратов в таблетированной форме. Если Вы принимаете маравирок в сочетании с другими АРВ препаратами, то Вы можете уменьшить свою вирусную нагрузку, и увеличить количество Т-клеток. Это означает, что Вы дольше будете здоровым.


А КАК НАСЧЕТ РЕЗИСТЕНТНОСТИ?
ВИЧ нестабилен, когда он делает копии своего генетического кода (РНК). Множество из новых копий вируса –мутации: они абсолютно отличаются от оригинала. Некоторые мутации могут продолжать размножаться, даже если Вы принимаете АРВ терапию. Если это происходит, лекарство перестанет работать. Это называется «выработать резистентность» к лекарству. См. информационный листок 126 для получения большей информации о резистентности.
Резистентность к маравироку не достаточно хорошо изучена. При комбинированной терапии (когда в одновременно принимаете больше одного АРВ препарата), ВИЧ мутирует намного медленнее. Большее время уходит на развитие резистентности. Очень важно принимать АРВ препараты в соответствии с инструкцией, по расписанию, не пропускать приемы, и не уменьшать дозу.
Иногда, если у Вас выработалась резистентность к одному препарату, у Вас также будет резистентность к некоторым другим АРВ препаратам. Это называется «перекрестная резистентность». Поскольку маравирок является представителем нового класса АРВ препаратов, кажется, что у него практически нет перекрестной резистентности с АРВ препаратами более старых классов.


КАК ПРИНИМАЮТ МАРАВИРОК?
Маравирок выпускается в таблетках с пленочным покрытием по 150 или 300 миллиграмм. Взрослая доза маравирока может быть 150, 300 или 600 мг. дважды в день. Доза зависит от того, какие ещё лекарства используются в схеме АРВ терапии. Стандартная доза 300 мг дважды в день. Доза в 150 мг нужна, если Вы принимаете другое лекарство как делавирдин или большое количество ингибитора протеазы. Доза в 600 мг используеться с эфавиренцем, этравирином (ТМС125, ненуклеозидный ингибитор обратной транскриптазы (ННИОТ) в разработке, см. инф. листок 430) и другими препаратами, которые могут понизить уровень маравирока в крови.
Маравирок можно принимать с едой или без еды.


КАКОВЫ ПОБОЧНЫЕ ЭФФЕКТЫ?
Самые распространенные побочные эффекты от према маравирока: кашель, жар, инфекции верхних дыхательных путей, сыпь, боль в мышцах, боли в животе и головокружение. У людей, принимающих маравирок, также повышен риск сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний, например сердечного приступа, или головокружения, при быстром вставании.
Маравирок может быть тяжел для печени. Людям, принимающим маравирок, необходимо обязательно обратиться к своему врачу, в случае появления сыпи, пожелтения кожи, или глаз, потемнения мочи, рвоты или болях в животе.


 КАК ОН ВЗАИМОДЕЙСТВУЕТ С ДРУГИМИ ЛЕКАРСТВАМИ?
Маравирок изучался на предмет взаимодействия с другими лекарствами. Нет никаких выявленных противопоказаний с другими АРВ препаратами. Однако, он не изучался на взаимодействие со всеми существующими лекарствами, витаминами, или травяными добавками. Убедитесь, что Ваш врач в курсе того, какие лекарства и добавки Вы принимаете.


ИТОГ
Маравирок –это первое лекарство нового класса. Он предотвращает присоединение вируса к клетке. Это предохраняет клетку от инфицирования ВИЧ. Маравирок помогает контролировать ВИЧ, даже если у ВИЧ выработана резистентность к другим препаратам.


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please click on the SUBMIT button.

SUBMIT

AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Fact Sheet 462

Maraviroc (Selzentry, Celsentri)


WHAT IS MARAVIROC?
WHO SHOULD TAKE IT?
WHAT ABOUT DRUG RESISTANCE?
HOW IS MARAVIROC TAKEN?
WHAT ARE THE SIDE EFFECTS?
HOW DOES IT REACT WITH OTHER DRUGS?
THE BOTTOM LINE

 


WHAT IS MARAVIROC?

Maraviroc (Selzentry in the US and Celsentri elsewhere) was formerly known as UK 427,857. It is a drug used for antiviral therapy. It is manufactured by Pfizer.

Maraviroc is the first “attachment inhibitor” drug. When HIV infects a cell, it attaches to the outside of the cell. It uses molecules on the surface of the CD4 cell to attach to the cell before fusing with it. Maraviroc blocks the receptor called a CCR5 molecule. When maraviroc blocks this receptor, HIV cannot infect that cell.

The preference of HIV for one type of attachment molecule is called tropism. Maraviroc only works against HIV that uses CCR5 to enter the T-cell. Before patients are prescribed maraviroc, they must take a tropism test to make sure that their virus uses the CCR5 receptor. See fact sheet 129 for information on tropism tests.

 


WHO SHOULD TAKE IT?

Maraviroc was approved in 2007 as an antiretroviral drug against HIV as part of an antiretroviral regimen. It should only be used by people whose virus is “CCR5 tropic.” Maraviroc has not been studied in children, pregnant women, people with serious liver problems, or older adults.

There are no absolute rules about when to start antiviral drugs. You and your health care provider should consider your CD4 cell count, your viral load, any symptoms you are having, and your attitude about taking HIV medications. Fact Sheet 404 has more information about guidelines for the use of antiviral medications.

Maraviroc is taken twice a day. It will most likely be used by people who have very few choices of antiviral medications in pill form. If you take maraviroc with other antiretroviral drugs, you can reduce your viral load and increase your CD4 cell counts. This should mean staying healthier longer.

 


 WHAT ABOUT DRUG RESISTANCE?

The HIV virus is sloppy when it makes copies of its genetic code (RNA). Many new copies of HIV are mutations: they are slightly different from the original virus. Some mutations can continue to multiply even when you are taking an antiviral drug. When this happens, the drug will stop working. This is called "developing resistance" to the drug. See Fact Sheet 126 for more information on resistance.

Resistance to maraviroc is not well understood. With combination therapy (taking more than one antiviral drug at the same time), HIV mutates much more slowly. Resistance takes longer to develop. It is very important to take antiretroviral medications according to instructions, on schedule, and not to skip or reduce doses.

Sometimes, if you develop resistance to one drug, you will also have resistance to other antiviral drugs. This is called "cross-resistance". Because maraviroc is in a new class of antiviral drugs, it seems to have almost no cross-resistance with antiviral drugs in older classes.

 


 HOW IS MARAVIROC TAKEN?

Maraviroc is provided as 150 mg or 300 mg film-coated tablets. The adult dosage of maraviroc can be 150 mg, 300 mg, or 600 mg twice daily. The dosage depends on which other drugs are being used for antiviral therapy. The standard dose is 300 mg twice daily. The 150 mg dose is needed if you are taking certain drugs including delavirdine or most protease inhibitors. The 600 mg dose is used with efavirenz, etravirine and other drugs that can lower blood levels of maraviroc. The dosage should be reduced for patients with serious kidney problems.

Maraviroc can be taken with or without food.

 


WHAT ARE THE SIDE EFFECTS?

The most common side effects of maraviroc include cough, fever, upper respiratory infections, rash, sore muscles, abdominal pain, and dizziness. People taking maraviroc also may have an increased risk for cardiovascular events such as heart attack, or dizziness when standing up quickly.

Maraviroc can be hard on the liver. People taking maraviroc should tell their health care provider if they have any signs of liver problems such as rash, yellowing skin or eyes, dark urine, vomiting, or abdominal pain. However, maraviroc appears to reduce liver stiffness (fibrosis).

 


 HOW DOES IT REACT WITH OTHER DRUGS?

Maraviroc has important interactions with many anti-HIV medications. These require changes in the dosage of maraviroc. Maraviroc should usually not be taken by patients with serious kidney problems who are also taking ritonavir. 

The herb St. John's Wort (See Fact Sheet 729) lowers the blood levels of maraviroc. Do not use it with maraviroc. Maraviroc has not been studied with all medicines, over-the-counter drugs or vitamin or herbal supplements. Be sure your health care provider knows about all medications and supplements that you are taking.



 THE BOTTOM LINE

Maraviroc is the first drug in a new class. It stops HIV from attaching to a cell. This prevents HIV from infecting the cell. Maraviroc helps control HIV, even when it is resistant to other medications.

 


 

 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please click on the SUBMIT button.

SUBMIT